The Best Trilogy Ever: The Dark Knight

Last week, I was casually having a Batman movie marathon for no particular reason – every Batman movie released since 1989. Batman is the first superhero movie I’ve seen when I was a kid, and I was completely obsessed with Batman Returns at that time. I think I’ve watched it 20 times or more. Michael Keaton played Batman role in that movie and he was great. 

Upon finishing Batman and Robin

I was really hyped for Batman Begins, and it exceeded my expectations. Forgive me for saying this, but I have countless of holy sh*ts while watching the entire trilogy. I asked myself questions such as “Why I haven’t seen this before?”, “How can I skip these pure genius films all this time?”, “Why I didn’t make myself up-to-date and watched it in theaters?”, so on and so forth. But there are its own advantages of watching it on my own and simultaneously.

Let’s go back to my point, Why is it the Best Trilogy Ever? 

The Casting

How in the world you can put up these brilliant and talented actors and actresses in one epic trilogy? Nolan can. They are all perfectly suited in their own characters and they all did an excellent performance. Class acts, as you might say.


(ctto)

And we all know the most iconic man who played the Joker, Heath Ledger, the best Joker in the history, and probably the best villain I’ve ever seen. Rest in Peace to this beautiful human being. 

Christian Bale is also the best Batman for me. I personally think that he IS, in fact, Batman. 

Don’t let yourself get killed arguing with that.

The Cinematography

You’ve got to hand it to the people who work behind the scenes, they are the creators and sources of a great output. In this case, Wally Pfister is the cinematographer of the whole trilogy. 

From the intimate one-on-one scenes to road-chase and top of the building scenery, the cinematography is aesthetically flawless.

The Plot

From beginning to end, it is as a whole, has important parts that make up its greatness. Mostly, people prefer The Dark Knight than the other two, but TDK is just one part of it that makes up the whole story. People should never disregard the beginning and the ending, which is also made impeccably by the writers. The story is made by David S. Goyer. 

The plot twist in The Dark Knight Rises:

It’s not Bane. It’s me – the daughter of Ra’s Al Ghul, must fulfill his father’s destinty, to destroy Gotham.

Each film has its own message.
Begin. Fall. Rise.

The Best, Hold-Your-Breath, and Jaw-Dropping Moments

Ranking it from 8th.

8. The Training (Batman Begins)

I respect movies who elaborately shows where it all came from. The training is an essential part which answers the “whys and wheres” and the level of expertise that a protagonist acquires. 


“Always mind your surroundings”

7. The Bank Heist followed by Batpod Chase a.k.a Batman’s first appearance (The Dark Knight Rises)

Nolan just simply tells all other superhero movies how to make an entrance. One must take note.

6. The Joker Crashes the Party (The Dark Knight)


One of the qualities of a great villain is knowing how to make a scene. A party is such a classic set up, and a perfect timing to show up. This nerve-wracking moment will always be iconic.

5.  Bat meets Bane (The Dark Knight Rises)


Batman gets locked up, beaten up by Bane, and thrown into a pit/prison. 

4. Batman Saves Gotham & The Ending (The Dark Knight Rises)

The Batman carries the atomic bomb which was supposed to blow Gotham City, and it burned himself alive. 

Well, not really. 

As Chris Nolan said, “Every good story deserves a great ending.”

The ending seems that Bruce Wayne lives the life that Alfred wanted him to be. And he is in fact, not dead.

The. Best. Ending. Ever.

3. The Climb.

“And why do we fall, Bruce? So we can learn to pick ourselves up.”


It’s predictable that he can make it, but when Bruce made the jump I almost fall on the couch and I cried a little. It was goosebumps all around. Damn, that was amazing.


This is the most triumphant scene I’ve seen in the trilogy than his most battles. 

2. The Interrogation (The Dark Knight)

I guess we can all agree that this scene has reached the peak of intensity by Heath’s incredible acting, the script, and the fight scene with Batman. 

No WORDS.

1. A Dark Knight. (The Dark Knight)

Many of you might not agree, but the The Dark Knight ending says it all. It reveals Batman who he really is. The bravest thing he has done. He took the blame on Harvey’s death. 

GORDON: …he’s the hero Gotham deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So, we’ll hunt him, because he can take it. 

He’s a silent guardian. A watchful protector. 

Me:


Am I done? Not even close. 

The mind-blowing and brilliant quotes

Batman Begins

It’s not who I am underneath, but what I do that defines me.

     – Bruce Wayne

Why do we fall, sir? So that we can learn to pick ourselves up.

 Alfred

But I know the rage that drives you. That impossible anger strangling the grief, until the memory of your loved ones is just poison in your veins. And one day you catch yourself wishing the person you loved had never existed, so you’d be spared your pain.

Ducard

The Dark Knight

 You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself become the villain.

Batman

 If you’re good at something, never do it for free.

The Joker

 I believe whatever doesn’t kill you simply makes you… stranger.  

–  The Joker

Some men aren’t looking for anything logical, like money. They can’t be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with. Some men just want to watch the world burn.

– Alfred    

in their last moments, people show you who they really are.

The Joker 

 See, I’m not a monster…I’m just ahead of the curve. 

The Joker

 Sometimes the truth isn’t good enough, sometimes people deserve more. Sometimes people deserve to have their faith rewarded.

Batman

The Dark Knight Rises

  You see, it’s the slow knife, the knife that takes it’s time, the knife that waits years without forgetting, then slips quietly between the bones, that’s the knife, that cuts deepest.

 Miranda Tate

 You think darkness is your ally. You’ve merely adapted the dark. I was born in it, molded by it. I didn’t see the light until I was a man and by then it was only blinding.

Bane

And the best of them all:

 A hero can be anyone, even a man doing something as simple and reassuring as putting a coat on a young boy’s shoulders to let him know that the world hadn’t ended.

– Bruce Wayne/ Batman 

Music

It can never be as great as it is without the legendary music provided by Hans Zimmer. 

And last but not the least,

Christopher Nolan

One of the greatest filmmaker in this generation. We wouldn’t have this trilogy without you. Hats off! 



My rating

  • Batman Begins 9/10
  • The Dark Knight 10/10
  • The Dark Knight Rises 10/10


PS. I fell in love with Christian Bale. 😍

Much Love,

K

Leave a comment